Population Exchange Museum
The building in which the museum is hosted was constructed in 1913. Prior to this, it served as a tavern of a Greek man named Yannis until 1923. After the Population Exchange which led to the migration of nearly 2 million people between greece and Turkey, the Greeks left the Çatalca area and for a while the Tavern was run by a Turkish man. Commencing 1961, the building served as a branch of Ziraat bank. Overtime it served as a working place until the Ölçer family allocated the building to the Foundation of Lausanne Treaty Emigrants to be used as a Population Exchange Museum. It was opened to the public in December of 2010 after restoration works were carried out by the Çatalca Municipality and the Istanbul 2010 European Capital of Culture Agency. The aim of opening this museum is to preserve the memory of the social and cultural aftermath of the First World War. Besides, the museum also showcases property of those who left their homes in the Balkans such as raki glasses, table clothes, newspapers, diplomas, exchange documents, diaries, photographs, letters, family china, heirlooms, trousseaux and embroidery. Their grandchildren donated these to the Population Exchange Museum established in their memory and set in a cosy and informative style. Despite being far, almost 60km west of the Istanbul central, the Population Exchange Museum attracts a lot of tourists from around the world.